Trying new things

Hello all,

Apologies for the short unintended hiatus, my internet went down, if it’s not one thing it’s another eh? So much has been going on since I last posted, and I’m struggling to keep up with day to day life currently. Anyone else been hit hard by hayfever? I usually suffer quite bad, but at the moment I really just want to claw my eyes out. Fun times ha ha.

So in the short time I’ve been gone, I tried a few foods from my childhood that I never used to like, as I’m getting older I’m finding that my pallet is really changing. I never used to touch seafood, or anything with cheese, both things I’m growing rather fond of. I tried beetroot (un-vinegared), radish, blueberries, and habanero spiced sausage and I liked them all!! I have to admit I actually was a little nervous trying them, all I could think was what if they taste as horrible as I remember and I can’t get the flavour out of my mouth?! I’m now incorporating beetroot and radish into my salads. Do you guys eat them? What do you like to do with them?

Now, there are some things that even as my pallet has widened, I still cannot stand the taste of, and frankly I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to, one of these is bananas, I detest them, so when I saw this recipe on Sally’s Baking Addiction, I thought wow…but then I noticed it had banana, I know what I’m like, with flavours I’m not a fan of I can pick them up really easy. (Mum used to try and hide tuna in things, she never fooled me.) But the recipe looked so healthy and easy I just had to try it…alas, I could taste the banana and therefore couldn’t enjoy it, but my friends did! I might do some experimenting with it and see if I can substitute it for something else. If you’re ok with banana, I definitely recommend these, a little treat without the guilt! The point is, you have to try new things, you can’t limit yourself to what you think you know. Sometimes it pays off and sometimes it doesn’t…this is something I’m currently trying to take into other aspects of my life.

SAM_0780

2 thoughts on “Trying new things

    • I couldn’t agree more, and I’m definitely making it my aim to try something new every week. Who doesn’t love food?! Finding more you like, means more to eat and I can’t argue with that!!

Leave a Reply

