Catch up post

Sorry all, I haven’t been up to much bentoing, and everything has taken a very hectic turn. But here, in very poor Instagram edited form, is everything I’ve been up to food wise. I’ve been trying to eat clean recently, and get back into the gym, and become fit and healthy once more. But this means, I haven’t really watched the presentation of my food.

collage_4

I’ve been trying to get into the habit of meal preparation, when I have some free time, to make things easier for the coming week. This is a collage of a meal prep I did a week or so ago. I boiled baby corn, green beans and broccoli. Grilled two gammon steaks, boiled potatoes and brown rice. I also chopped up some honeydew melon.

collage_9

I had some friends over, and I managed to serve up some delicious and healthy eats! I cooked Tilapia in lime juice and chili and served it on a bed of baby spinach and lettuce leaves. I also served wholewheat pasta with a fresh tomato and basil sauce, (simply amazing flavor!) a cucumber and corn salsa, pico de gallo, avocado, cilantro and homemade tortilla chips. A bit of a Mexican feel, and it was so filling.

collage_11

This is a series of lunches/dinners I have had recently. All nourishing, all delicious and very importantly all filling. I don’t ever believe that eating healthily should leave you feeling hungry and deprived, if that’s the case, you’re probably taking the wrong approach. Starting top left and going clockwise, there is a chicken salad, with baby spinach and lettuce leaves, carrots, baby corn, pepper, tomatoes, spring onion, avocado and cucumber, topped with homemade tortilla chips and olive oil and black pepper dressing.
Then there is a chicken stir-fry, not my finest work…I’ve got some portions left in the freezer, it’s edible, but not overly enjoyable…just mediocre, however I don’t like wasting food, so it will get eaten eventually. Then the same chicken salad wrapped in a wholewheat tortilla and topped with Greek yogurt. Finally a simple omelet with avocado and tomatoes and two pieces of wholewheat toast.

collage_10

A different shot of the dinner party, the leftover lunch bowl I made from it and the salad I ordered whilst eating out with a friend. Rich with flavor, but an absolutely huge portion, I only ate half. It was marinated feta, baby spinach leaves, avocado, broccoli, some kind of sprouts, and some other things that I can’t recall. It’s nice to be able to go out, but still feel good about your meal choice.

collage_12

The ingredients that went into my chicken stir-fry, two smoothies for breakfast, a nice green and mango one, and a berry smoothie, and soup that I am now addicted to!

collage_13

An utterly delicious salmon and Singapore noodle stir-fry, another berry smoothie and scrambled eggs and toast for brekkie!

Finally the only two bentos I have prepared during this time, plus another breakfast shot. The bento on the left is sesame ryvita, honeydew melon, strawberries, rice and gammon cubes with boiled veggies. The bento on the right is the same, minus the ryvita and strawberries.

Sorry for the hugely long post, but that is me officially caught up! Happy Easter everyone.

2 thoughts on “Catch up post

Leave a Reply

